The Australian Special Education Principals Association was established in 1998.

ASEPA is the peak national organisation representing school based special education principals and leaders in Australia.

ASEPA has developed from the Australian Federation of Special Education Administrators (AFSEA). AFSEA was formed as an outcome of the inaugural national conference of special education leaders in Adelaide in November 1997.

The body was incorporated in 2001. ASEPA parallels similar peak bodies such as the Australian Primary Principals Association and the Australian Secondary Principals Association. The unique patterns of education service delivery to students with disabilities and special educational needs requires ASEPA to represent special education leaders across all sectors of schooling including early intervention, primary and secondary.

ASEPA (as of July 1 2015) now operates under its new company constitution and is now a Company by Limited Guarantee, registered with the Australian Investment Securities Commission.